April 26, 2009

Guess I’m not much of a ‘housekeeper’

Posted in Personal at 1:55 pm by bitsypieces

The other day Hubby was sweeping the floors (our house is almost entirely laminate floor), and he turned to me with an exasperated expression on his face. Then he said: “In our lifetime, do you ever plan to clean the floors?”

This, of course, launched me into a list of things I do around the house.

It’s true, however, that Hubby does a lot of the traditional “woman’s” work, including sweeping the floors and cleaning the bathroom. (I, however, keep the kitchen clean, do most of the laundry, and pick up random scattered crap he leaves laying around the house. I mean, if you use a pen and place it on the counter beside the drawer where it belongs, how much extra work is it to actually return it to its rightful home in the drawer? But I digress.) He also does almost all the “man” work, such as lawn care and taking out the trash.

I’m the one that cleans the smeared pureed sweet potato off the dining room chairs… but he doesn’t notice that. (He doesn’t notice it because I do it. If I let it go, then he’d notice it.)

But Hubby does have a point. I totally avoid the jobs I hate most (sweeping the floor and cleaning the bathroom), whereas he does the jobs he despises at least occasionally.

So I’ve decided to step up my housekeeping efforts.

I’m thinking about buying a roomba.

Or is that cheating??

1 Comment »

  1. […] year the gift is “wool.” As I mentioned in a previous post, I am not much of a housekeeper and Hubby does most of the floor cleaning. We have pets, so […]


Leave a Reply

