March 17, 2009

An Experiment in “Clean Eating”

Posted in Uncategorized at 1:34 pm by bitsypieces

Most fitness enthusiasts know the phrase “Clean Eating.” It basically means eating close to nature without added fats or sugars. Processed foods are usually avoided, as are any refined foods. An example of a “clean” meal would be a baked chicken breast, steamed broccoli with herbs, and plain brown rice. To learn more about “Clean Eating,” check out the book The Eat-Clean Diet by Tosca Reno. It’s a great resource!

In general, eating “clean” is a pretty strict nutritional lifestyle. However, this type of lifestyle does get results. Start eating “clean” and you’re almost guaranteed to be healthier and thinner in just a few weeks.

I like the concept of “Clean Eating,” but these days I am having trouble fitting it into my life. Now that I have a child, I find myself grabbing whatever is quick and handy. Common “meals” for me include cheese and crackers, a handful of Doritos, or a frozen pizza.

My question: Is “Clean Eating” possible even for a busy parent?

Advocates would say it is, especially when that parent plans ahead by preparing multiple meals–say, cooking 6 chicken breasts at once. This makes grab-and-go food easy. But I wrestle with other issues, too, such as:

* A semi-vegetarian style of eating
* A paranoia about the safety of leftovers (They get 2-3 days in my fridge before they’re tossed.)
* A spouse who loves to dine out
* A palate that quickly gets bored

I’ve decided to try a “Clean Eating” experiment, however. Starting today I will practice the principles of “Clean Eating” as much as possible. I will do my best to adhere to “Clean Eating” standards. And I’ll post here to let you know about my progress and give you the results.

Does “Clean Eating” work for a busy parent who’s on-the-go?  Stay tuned to find out…

(This post also published at my health and weight loss blog www.RefrigeratorRaid.com.)

1 Comment »

  1. 1001petals said,

    Oh that sounds like how I ate before my husband moved in (then bf). He prefers complex dishes. I would eat things like a plate of steamed vegetables for dinner. . not even multiple vegetables, but something like a plate of cauliflower. Or green beans. Later I might have some brown rice. This is a very easy diet to maintain as it doesn’t require any real work outside of boiling/steaming or baking 🙂

    p.s. I just started reading your blog a few days ago. Found it through a comment you left on some other blog (don’t remember which one.)


Leave a Reply

