March 9, 2009

$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$$

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:53 pm by bitsypieces

It seems like these days everyone can probably chant along to those lyrics “…with my mind on my money and my money on my mind…”  It’s funny how media hysterics + a downturn in certain industries = mass anxiety.

To be honest, I don’t see a lot of signs of a recession or impending depression in my town.  Although three big employers around here have been going through lay-offs, there’s still plenty of spending going on.  The mall, Wal-Mart shopping center, Borders, etc. are still PACKED with people every weekend.  There are still waiting lines to eat at The Olive Garden, our favorite sushi place and Red Lobster.  Maybe the weekday shopping has slimmed down a bit, but the folks in my area are still spending, spending, spending.

Nonetheless, as I mentioned in a previous post, I still feel anxious about the state of my bank balance (which is, thank God, relatively healthy).  Maybe fear and concern about money is contagious.

Whatever the reason, I really need to start working on ways to boost my income.

Leave a Reply

