February 20, 2009

The Denim Dilemma

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:48 pm by bitsypieces

In light of my new desire to get over my frumpy clothing hump (aka the frump hump), I’d like to explain my denim dilemma.

In my Party Girl days, I wore jeans almost every day.  They were usually snug-fitting and paired with a tiny shirt or midriff bearing tee.  These days, jeans continue to be my everyday uniform for a variety of reasons:

  • They’re easy to launder.  If they get covered in spit-up or snot, I can throw ’em in the washing machine.
  • They’re practical.  To run a quick errand, I can just slip my wallet into the back pocket and my keys into the front pocket.  Now that I have to carry a baby, I can’t really shop with a cute clutch.
  • They’re versatile.  Basic jeans are nicely casual.  A dark wash pair can be dressed up with heels and a jacket.

However, as a traditional “apple” in shape (meaning I carry my weight in my midsection), I find the waistband of jeans to often be binding.  As a result, my “casual” jeans are usually purchased one size too big for comfort.

Well, I guess I’ve been losing some baby weight, because it started getting to the point that my post-pregnancy jeans (purchased on eBay to fit my larger hips and not-yet-shrunken tummy) were sliding down my ass.  However, I am still a little too big to fit comfortably in my pre-pregnancy jeans.  So I went back to eBay and bought more jeans in a smaller size.

This new batch of jeans stay up (no ass slippage!), but they are too constricting at the waist!

It’s definitely a dilemma.  No wonder sweatpants always seem like a good choice…

Leave a Reply

