February 17, 2009

Comfortable AND Stylish?

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:51 pm by bitsypieces

Is it a total oxymoron?

I am a SAHM.  Since I’m still nursing, my typical around-the-house garb is a nursing tank, a basic zipper oversized sweatshirt, and jeans.  My typical leaving-the-house garb is a nursing tank, a cuter-but-still-basic hoodie, and jeans.  (Sometimes I switch out the sweatshirt for a button-down.)

At home I don’t wear shoes.  When I leave the house I am usually in canvas sneakers.  Most of my clothing is black, brown or white.  (Sometimes gray when I feel adventurous.)

Overall, my outfits are boring, ill-fitting, drab and lame.  In short, I am in a fashion hump.  A frump hump, if you will.

But comfort is #1 for me!  (Yeah, yeah… I know Stacy and Clinton say it’s possible to be stylish and comfortable.  But I don’t believe it.)  How does a SAHM–particularly one who rarely leaves the house, and thus has few reasons to even get out of her PJs–mix comfort AND fashion?

I’m not really sure it can be done, but I am willing to give it the ol’ college try.  I rummaged through my bins of clothes today (the stuff put away because it didn’t fit post-pregnancy or it was out of season) and managed to find a few more pieces that I can wear again.  With a little experimenting, I may be able to put together an outfit that doesn’t include a sweatshirt or hoodie (although I’ll probably still be wearing jeans).

3 Comments »

  1. Tiffany said,

    I understand the “frumpy” clothes when you are a stay at home mom. Since I walk my daughter to school in the morning I at least put on a nice shirt and jeans. If I wasn’t taking her to school I would be in PJ’s all day long.

    I am glad to hear you are still nursing – I remember when you were having trouble with it.

  2. Serenity Now said,

    Ha – at least you wear jeans! I’ll throw them on when I leave the house – but at home, it’s all about flannel PJ bottoms or stretchy yoga pants. I figure this is just the season of my life right now. Maybe when I’m out seeing actual adults more often, I’ll pay more attention to my outfits 🙂

  3. […] at 2:48 pm by bitsypieces In light of my new desire to get over my frumpy clothing hump (aka the frump hump), I’d like to explain my denim […]


Leave a Reply

