January 24, 2009

Learning to Love my Kitchen

Posted in Uncategorized at 12:47 am by bitsypieces

Despite my foray into baking cakes and cookies, I am not a lover of the kitchen.  The pizza delivery guy is familiar with my house because:

  • Many of my cooking attempts are failures, especially to Hubby with the (so he thinks) gourmet palate.
  • I am lazy.  Cooking meals often involves slicing, dicing, chopping, mincing, peeling, shredding, mixing, stirring, sauteeing, broiling, boiling, roasting… you get the idea.  Too much frakin‘ work!
  • I am lazy.  I hate to clean up pots and pans.  Cooking meals also involves cleaning, scrubbing, scouring, scraping… you get the idea.
  • I hate to plan meals.  Often I buy the ingredients I need for a special meal, only to have the urge for (surprise!) pizza instead.  So the meal ingredients go the waste, since I have a hard time fighting my cravings.

But the truth is, pizza delivery is far more expensive than even a “fancy” meal prepared at home… at least most of the time.  And I actually do possess basic culinary skills (I know what it means to braise, for example).

So I’ve decided to try one new recipe a week from one of the food blogs I love (check out my Yummy Food links).  I have also decided that the recipe I try can be full of fat and full of calories… (because first I have to get Hubby to realize he does enjoy my cooking before I start sneaking in the healthy stuff).

This week I am going to try Chicken Pesto Creme from Hot off the Garlic Press.  Hubby likes chicken.  How can it go wrong?

Leave a Reply

