January 20, 2009

The Stay-At-Home Martyr

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:00 pm by bitsypieces

I recently purchased the book The Stay-At-Home Martyr.  (It was full price at Borders, but I had a gift certificate so out-of-pocket expense was actually $0.)  Although I don’t consider myself a “martyr” by any stretch of the imagination, lately I have found myself wondering if there’s life outside poo-poo, nipple cream and plastic blocks.

The Stay-At-Home Martyr does a great–and hilarious–job of reminding moms that we are not slaves to our children, and jumping at their every whimper does very little to teach them about real life.  Moreover, taking care of ourselves as women and human beings–as well as taking care of our marriages–is actually one of the best things we can do for our kids.

I highly recommend this book to every mother who wants to reclaim a bit of herself outside of her identity as  “mom.”  Yes, my role as a mother is one of the most important in my life.  But that doesn’t mean I should neglect my role of wife, daughter, sister, friend and woman.

Gee… just writing this post makes me feel more fulfilled.

Leave a Reply

