January 14, 2009

Homemade Baby Food

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:24 pm by bitsypieces

So I plan to make Baby’s food homemade for a few different reasons:

  • Cheaper: While jarred baby food isn’t super super expensive, it’s still cheaper to make my own.  Especially since I plan to go organic.
  • Control: Yeah… baby food companies have all kinds of safety measures in place so they don’t get sued.  But if I make my own, I can be pretty darn positive that a) there’s no broken glass/fingers/plastic bits in the food, and b) there’s no hidden chemicals/preservatives/additives.
  • Variety: Though I realize that there are all sorts of baby foods out there, making my own will allow me to easily adapt Baby to our own “tastes,” since I can basically puree the same foods we’re eating.

So I’ve been reading about homemade baby food.  It’s kinda complicated (when to introduce certain foods, nitrates, etc).  Anyone have any good homemade baby food recipes?

Leave a Reply

