November 25, 2008

First Decorating Attempt: Cupcakes!

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:02 pm by bitsypieces

My first cake decorating attempt (unless you count one Garfield cake 20 years ago) was cupcakes. Easier than a regular cake, I thought.

Actually, I think they took MORE time than a cake… mostly because they required a lot of decoration (unlike a cake that has open spots with just smooth frosting).

And a lesson learned: My buttercream needs to be stiffer for my decorations.

dsc00282Big Bird and Cookie Monster were practice cupcakes for when Baby reaches her first birthday. The flowers were practice for future cake decorations.

I gave most of them away to the neighbors. (If I eat too many cupcakes, I’ll end up gaining back the baby weight!) And as a nod to my (beginner) skill, a neighbor offered to pay me for a batch of 24 cupcakes for her kids’ birthday.

Leave a Reply

