October 11, 2008

To Tell Or Not To Tell?

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:01 pm by bitsypieces

A few weeks ago–when Baby was just starting to grasp blankets–Hubby was was holding Baby in his arms.  Baby reached up and grabbed his shirt with her fists, clinging tightly.  Excitedly he said to me, “Bitsy, look at what Baby’s doing!”  (This was the first time he’d seen her do this.)

I shrugged dismissively and replied, “She’s been doing that for a while now.”

I immediately saw the excitement and light diminish in his eyes… and I felt terrible.  I had totally killed his joy.

Hubby goes out into the big, bad world to earn money for our family.  It’s not his fault that he’s not with Baby every second of the day.  I want him to be able to share in her successes, too.

Today Baby did something new.  (She grabbed for a cloth book and tried to bring it to her mouth.  Sure… a small advance given the lifetime she has in her future.  But for this new mommy, it was a big thrill to watch.)

My question:  Should I tell Hubby about it?  Or wait for him to see her do it on her own, and then act excited and thrilled about it?

2 Comments »

  1. Leanne said,

    I too am also guilty of squishing my hubby’s excitment when he see’s Jacob do something new that I have already seen 100 times and never really thought much about it. Maybe deep down it was my way of blaming him for not being around more – I think it is hard for Dads there is stress for them to bring home money but then they get stress cause they are not home enough!? They can’t win – I think I would save it for a surprise for him too see on his own? I don’t think I should crush my hubby’s excitment anymore and never really thought about it till I read you’re post. Thanks! 😉

  2. Tiffany said,

    Since both my husband and I work out of the house we appreciate it when daycare tells us the new things the baby does so we can try to get her to do it at home. I would tell hubby what she did and then try to get her to do it again for him.


Leave a Reply

