September 30, 2008

Extra Cash For Mommy & Baby

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:52 pm by bitsypieces

So Hubby’s new job means a bit of a pay cut.  As a result, we’ll have to tighten our belts a little bit more.

However, I’ve always indulged in “shopping therapy” for myself.  Moreover, I’ve been trying to make sure we have plenty of stimulating toys for Baby.  (I know she doesn’t need tons of stuff… but I do like to have something new and age-appropriate for her every month or so.)  For Baby to get one new toy and for Mommy to get one new clothing item each month, I need an extra $50 or so in my monthly budget.  Currently, our finances are set-up as follows:

Hubby’s income: All household expenses, including mortgage payment, car payment, groceries, gas, utilities, etc.

My (spotty) freelance writing income: Building an emergency fund and saving for future goals (new house, etc.)

Rather than take $50 a month from either of those two categories, I’ve decided to earn it through extra writing.  Since work from the typical sources (clients and magazines) is spotty, I’m going to write more for Associated Content.  (By the way, even beginning writers can make money through this website.  It’s a good place to easily pick up some extra cash.)

At an average of $5 per paid article–plus the residual income paid by the website–I can probably earn the $50 a month by writing 2 articles per week.

It’s not a lot of extra cash.  But, on the other hand, it’s not a lot of extra work.  I can write two articles in about two hours… so the payoff is worth it.

Of course… If I were really financially smart… I’d skip the “shopping therapy” and instead put that $50 a month in a mutual fund earning 5%.  The result would be $20,552 in 20 years.

2 Comments »

  1. Laura said,

    Bitsy, I’m Laura and I work at Associated Content. I’m so glad that you’ve decided to give us a try–I am sure that you won’t be disappointed. We have lots of busy working and stay-at-home-moms writing for us in their valuable spare time.
    Once you get started, you’ll see that you can earn even more if you start answering Calls For Content, and there are plenty of tutorials on SEO and article promotion that will help you up your page views for Performance Payments, too. Welcome!
    Laura

  2. Lucky said,

    nice info tq….


Leave a Reply

