September 25, 2008

Cleaner–and Cheaper!–Diaper Changes

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:18 pm by bitsypieces

I am kind of anal about germs… especially germs around my baby.  So every time I see a “baby diaper changing station” in a public restroom, my mind’s eye sees thousands of women doing this:

Not a problem, right?  I mean… that’s the purpose of these changing stations.

Except in real life, diaper changing stations don’t look as clean and sanitary as the one in that photo.  Instead, they generally appear dirty, dingy and covered in pee-pee and poo-poo.

Some companies sell disposable diaper changing pads for an approximate price of 69 cents each.  Sorry… but that strikes me as completely unreasonable.

However, I have found that Chux–which are disposable absorbent pads used in hospitals and medical facilities–work the same.  And they’re a lot cheaper, too!  The best price I found is at Amazon.com.  Even with the price of shipping, this box of 100 is less expensive than regular disposable diaper changing pads.

I just throw a couple of Chux in the diaper bag and I’m ready for any diaper changing situation.  (They’re great for when you need to change a diaper at a friend’s house, too, since they protect your friend’s couch/floor from pee-pee and poo-poo!)

Leave a Reply

