September 8, 2008

Breastfeeding Issues

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:56 pm by bitsypieces

When Baby was first born, I was determined to breastfeed. Unfortunately, we had some “latching on” problems. I consulted my pediatrician and two different lactation consultants. For the first three weeks I battled cracked, bleeding and painful nipples. Sometimes when Baby would start crying her “hungry” cry, I’d almost bust into tears because I so dreaded the pain of feeding her.

Now, at 8 weeks, things have improved. It’s still a little painful to feed her–I don’t understand how some women actually enjoy it–but I’m not near tears anymore. My nipples have healed, and they are no longer bleeding. I don’t look forward to feeding her, but I’m not dreading it either.

I am starting to get concerned about my milk production, however. I pump once about every other day (just so Hubby can occasionally feed Baby), and I’ve noticed that I’m getting a lot less milk now than I did a week ago. I’m not sure what that’s about… and I’m wondering if it has something to do with our introduction of the pacifier (because now I am not the pacifier).

Leave a Reply

