September 2, 2008

Losing Weight on a Budget

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:50 pm by bitsypieces

So I’ve started a new program to help me lose the baby weight. I’ve chosen the Body for Life (BFL) plan because I think the principles are sound and I believe it works. (Of course, almost any plan works if you stick to it.) Hubby is on board, too, so we can take turns exercising and watching Baby.

BFL is pretty stringent… the upper body workout is enough to bring me to my knees. I’ll probably modify it slightly–I have to maintain a certain calorie level to continue producing breastmilk.

Diet and exercise programs can be pricey. To keep on budget, here are a few things we’re doing:

  • The Body for Life book was purchased used on Half.com.
  • We’re choosing cheaper proteins like egg whites.
  • More expensive proteins–salmon, shrimp, etc.–will only be purchased on sale.
  • Grains like brown rice will be purchased from bulk bins.
  • I’ll buy many of my veggies and fruits in season.
  • As much produce as possible will be purchased from the (cheap) farm stand in our neighborhood.
  • We’ll use only gym equipment we already own (free weights, heavy bag, exercise bands, etc.)
  • All my exercise “videos” will be the free ones offered on TV by the cable company.
  • I’ll use my old running shoes (for now).

By following these guidelines, we may actually save money since we’ll be eating less take-out (which is starting to become a staple on our dining room table). Also, I’ll be eating less processed food (such as microwave mac and cheese), which I’ve been buying a lot because of the convenience factor.

If you’re interested in following my weight loss journey, check out my health blog www.RefrigeratorRaid.com.

Leave a Reply

