July 24, 2008

My Butt Hurts

Posted in Uncategorized at 11:44 pm by bitsypieces

I had no idea the aftermath of labor and delivery would be so painful.  Admittedly, I had third degree lacerations by the time Baby Pieces arrived in this world… which means I’ll be sitting on this donut-shaped pillow for at least a few weeks.  But my bottom is throbbing so painfully that I can barely stand it at times.

And, unfortunately, this makes it harder to care for Baby Pieces.  I can’t exactly spring from bed when I hear her cry… it’s more like a slow, limping hobble.  Like Quasimodo with a drunk on.  And I haven’t even used my beautiful rocking chair yet, since it hurts my butt to sit in it.  So I have to sit on the edge of the bed to feed Baby Pieces.

I am healing, although the process seems agonizingly slow.  I have to laugh a bit at my preconceived ideas about the aftermath of birth.  I thought that at this point–two weeks–I’d be walking around my neighborhood with my baby and dogs… getting started on losing the baby weight.  Instead, it’s a challenge just to walk around the drugstore and find the nursing pads.

1 Comment »

  1. Tiffany said,

    It will get better – I promise you. Just relax and take it easy. With Mikayla I did not tear but I was much more sore than with number 2,. Could be because with Mikayla I did not take it easy like I should have.

    Drugstore and nursing pads?? Why not use re-usable nursing pads. I loved those much better than the disposable ones.


Leave a Reply

