May 20, 2008

Freezer Meals Without The Hassle of OAMC

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:42 pm by bitsypieces

So now that we own a deep freeze, I’m going to start thinking about stocking it with meals!

Many frugal and busy folks use Once-A-Month-Cooking (OAMC) to stock their freezers, save money and save time.  OAMC typically involves a 24-48 hour marathon period of shopping, prepping and cooking that results in 20-30 meals that can be frozen for a month’s worth of dinners.

It sounds like a great plan, and I envy those for whom it works.  However, it would never work for me.  I get frustrated, tired and bored by the time I’ve spent longer than 3 hours in the kitchen.  By the 4th hour, I no longer feel motivated to cook.  I just want my kitchen to be clean again.

Fortunately, there are some other ways to fill a freezer.  I plan to use these two methods:

  • Maybe once a week or so, spending a few hours cooking up two different meals that use some similar ingredients (like spaghetti sauce and chili).  So I could easily get four meals (two spaghetti and two chili) in a short period of time.
  • Doubling or tripling batches when I make meals for us right now–like veggie lasagna–and freezing leftovers.

I also plan to spend an afternoon or so doing an “assembly line” of things that can work for Hubby’s lunchbox.

Thus far, the only thing I’ve managed to freeze is about a dozen sandwiches made from sausage, eggs, cheese and English Muffins.  These make good, quick breakfast meals and can also be thrown into Hubby’s lunch.

Today I may try to do a big batch of PB&Js for Hubby’s lunch.  According to a post at Clever Dude, they freeze well and defrost into a tasty sandwich.

Anyone have any other ideas for lunch foods that freeze well?

4 Comments »

  1. I’m going to have to try freezing some PB&J!

  2. Another trick you could try is cooking up a lot of chicken in the slow-cooker until it is shredd-able, or cooking up a bunch of ground beef in your fry pan. Split up the meat into meal-sized portions (for example 1 pound of hamburger is called for in many recipes) and freeze it that way.
    While you didn’t make the entire casserole or recipe in advance, this would save some time on dinner prep later.

  3. […] from my own post, my favorite submissions […]

  4. […] Pieces presents Freezer Meals Without The Hassle of OAMC posted at Bits of […]


Leave a Reply

