May 14, 2008

Time is NOT on my side

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:54 pm by bitsypieces

Struck with the realization that Baby will be arriving in about 8 weeks, I am forced to acknowledge that I will not be accomplishing many of the tasks I had hoped to complete before having children.

For example, it’s probably much too late to start studying for my Personal Trainer certification.

It’s also probably too late to run a marathon.  (Though I still cling to the hope that I’ll one day cross that 26.2-mile finish line.)

Rather, I’m trying to focus on the few things I did complete.  I am a certified SCUBA diver.  Hubby and I both did our first skydives.  I wrote a novel (though it remains unpublished).  I published a short story.  I ran a 5k race.  I sold numerous magazine articles.  I married the man I love.  I achieved my purple belt in Tae Kwon Do.

Eight weeks isn’t much time.  But I think–with total dedication and resolution–I can accomplish one more achievement.

My goal:  To finish rewriting/editing my second novel.

And these wise words from Bunker Hunt will be my inspiration:

“To be successful, you must decide exactly what you want to accomplish, then resolve to pay the price to get it.”

Leave a Reply

