April 21, 2008

Balancing Work & Family

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:32 pm by bitsypieces

As a freelance writer, there are pros and cons to my work.

PROS

  • I can accept or decline assignments depending on my schedule.
  • I can work from home.
  • I can work whenever I desire (as long as I meet deadlines).

CONS

  • Work is sporadic, and isn’t always available.
  • Freelancers are, generally, less respected than staff writers.

Although I have the freedom to accept or decline assignments, I almost always accept work when I get it. It’s possible to get a steady gig–and I’ve had them in the past–but right now I’m just getting occasional work from a variety of editors. We need the extra money with Baby on the way, so I’m scooping up every bit of work I can get.

In a strange piece of serendipity, I hardly got any assignments during the months when my mother was very, very ill. (Good thing, because I didn’t want to do much work at that time.) Then, a day after her funeral, I got work from three different editors. Those assignments came at a time when (emotionally) I needed to keep busy and (for the first time in months) I actually had the time to do the work.

I am, however, concerned about how I might balance work and family once Baby arrives. Having never before raised a child, I have no idea how much time and energy will be required of me. (Though other mothers say that ALL my time and energy will be used up by Baby.) At this point, I’m just trying to stay flexible. And, fortunately, I can do that as a freelancer.

1 Comment »

  1. Tiffany said,

    It will be much easier to balance your work with only 1 baby . During my maternity leave while the little one napped I would work on my tan outside, garden, clean house, etc… Now with 2 what is free time (when both girls are in bed for the night sleeping)!

    It will take a little while to figure out how to balance mommy hood with work but you will be able to do it. I would not accpet any work that will have a deadline the first few weeks after the baby is born and then ease into the work once again.


Leave a Reply

