April 18, 2008

Cheap Versus Pricey Nursery

Posted in Uncategorized at 8:11 pm by bitsypieces

I know it’s possible to spend thousands on a nursery… especially once you include fancy crib sets, expensive decorations and high-end furniture. But as a generally frugal person, I just can’t bring myself to pay $800+ for a crib that will probably be used for just a year or so.

Here are a few ways Hubby and I are cutting back on a nursery costs:

  • Inexpensive furniture: “Inexpensive” doesn’t necessarily mean “cheap.” I spent hours and hours researching cribs and baby furniture. I read books, Consumer Reports and online reviews. (Surprisingly, the online reviews were probably the most useful thing I read.) Based on quality, longevity, features and appearance, we ultimately decided on a crib that cost $250 at Sears. (But I found it for $180 at Wal-Mart.)
  • Using gifts: I was given a crib set as a gift at a shower. I don’t love it–it’s probably not what I would have chosen–but the price was right. And, over time, I’ve grown more fond of it. By using the quilt in the set as a wall hanging, I’ve taken care of the nursery decorations.
  • Keeping things minimal: We’re not buying a changing table. I figure a floor or bed will be just as useful. We’re also not buying any decorations (we’ll just use the crib quilt). The paint will be a simple green/beige theme that will hopefully last into Baby’s childhood years. As for things like diaper holders and baby wipe warmers… forget about it!
  • Using things we have: A few years ago, Hubby bought me a very nice rocking chair as an anniversary gift. It makes a nice chair for the nursery, and I won’t have to buy a thing. We also have some extra wooden bookshelves in the basement (leftover from another project). With a little bit of paint, they’ll be perfect for Baby’s wall. No purchase required!

There are things we probably could have done to be more frugal. We could have borrowed a crib, for example, and left the walls a stark white. But I think we’re doing a pretty good job of keeping things within a workable budget.

1 Comment »

  1. Tiffany said,

    I was lucky in the fact that I received our crib and mattress second hand from a friend and our “changing table” was also free. It was an entertainement stand and it works great! I have a place to change the baby and drawers to put things in. If you decided you want something you don’t have know you can always go out and get it later.


Leave a Reply

