April 15, 2008

The “Comfort Level” for Savings

Posted in Uncategorized at 9:39 pm by bitsypieces

Everyone has a different “comfort level” for savings.

I tend to think “more is better.” Hubby, on the other hand, is okay with having just enough to squeak by.

In fact, one of our biggest money arguments is that he’ll dip into our emergency savings to pay for non-emergency things. I hate it… and I protest every time he does it. But then he says, “Hey, we need to pay this bill. Where else are we going to get the money?”

Somewhere–somehow–we’re making some financial mistakes. Given our income versus expenses, we should be saving a lot more than we do. We definitely should not be dipping into an emergency fund to pay off a credit card.

1 Comment »

  1. Tiffany said,

    Reading this entry again makes me think of my husband. I want to be at a point in life where we make enough money to pay the bills, work on paying down the huge debt we have and put a little aside each month. I told him this when we were talking about finances and he said no one has that at this stage in our lifes. I got so upset and then named off at least 3 other people off the top of my head that are in this position.


Leave a Reply

