April 14, 2008

Seeking A Way To Serve

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:07 pm by bitsypieces

I believe that service–both to my fellow humans and to God–is a necessary part of my existence. It’s easy to get wrapped up in material things and saving money. Serving helps remind us that there’s more to life than 401(k)s and taxes. It’s part of being a good Christian and a good person. It helps remind us of our own blessings. It creates a sense of community, and it benefits others.

Unfortunately, I’ve done very little to serve anyone lately.

As a result, I’ve decided that it’s time to look for more ways to serve. My first step is going to be a return to church. It’s been years since I’ve been a regular church-goer. In all honesty, the only reason I don’t attend regularly is because I’m not a morning person, and morning Mass is just too darn early for me.

Before my mother died, she told me this: With all that He’s given us, the least we can do is give Him a little bit of our time.

She was right. So I’m making a mid-year resolution to return to church and become a part of its community again.

Leave a Reply

