March 30, 2008

Baby on a Budget

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:18 am by bitsypieces

I’ve been making a list (I’m big on lists) of absolute necessities we’ll need before Baby arrives.  And I’m pleasantly surprised to discover that there are very few.

Things like high chairs and jogging strollers can wait until Baby is older, which means we don’t have to spend a bunch of cash at one time.

At this point, I’m thinking we need:

  • A crib plus sheets, mattress pads, etc.
  • A pack-n-play that we can use as a bassinet
  • A carseat/stroller
  • Diapers, wipes and diaper pail
  • Bottles and breast pump
  • Baby monitor

Those appear to be the only things we MUST have for a newborn.  We already have onesies and receiving blankets and some baby towels.  We received a lot of nice basics like that at our baby shower.

So, with any luck, we’ll be able to keep expenses to a minimum.

To ensure we stay on budget, I am also researching prices on those “absolute necessities” so we can start setting aside a little cash for the expense.

4 Comments »

  1. Tiffany said,

    For the crib you will need two sets of crib seats and two mattress pads. That way one set is always clean when the other one gets dirty, you will also need a bumper pad. You may be able to get by without the pack n play for now – depends on your house. The three bedrooms in our house surround the living room so I can always hear baby no matter where I am. Also, if you have an upstairs you can use the baby monitor to hear the baby. When you first put that newborn in the crib it seems huge. With our second baby I purchased an incline to sleep for about $20 and that works great. For diapers I purchase the cheap ones in the yellow bag at Wal-mart – super cheap and work just as good as the expensive ones. FYI – the diaper genie is very hard to use with one hand, I use the diaper champ and I like it. You will also need a baby bathtub or bath pillow. A swaddle blanket is nice because it makes it easier to swaddle the baby – I have never been good at swaddling. A swing or a bouncy chair is very nice to have – I have used both MANY times – that is where the little one naps.

  2. Bitsy said,

    Thanks so much for the advice! It always helps to hear from experienced Moms!

  3. Want my 2 cents? 🙂

    I had an infant carseat but skipped the whole stroller setup and used a sling early on. I got a good umbrella type stroller (Maclaren) later.

    And I didn’t believe this advice when I was pg with my first, but if you want to cut back more, you really don’t need a fancy diaper pail. When breastfeeding, the baby poo doesn’t stink (seriously), and after they start solids or formula, the poo stinks so bad that even the best diaper pail can’t hide it for long. We would just put it in a bag and straight into the regular trash.

    How far along are you now?

  4. Bitsy said,

    Thanks for your 2 cents! 🙂

    At this point I’m about 26 weeks! Unfortunately, straight to the trash won’t work for us, since I plan to cloth diaper. But maybe we could take them straight to the laundry room…


Leave a Reply

