March 10, 2008

A Bento Lunch

Posted in Uncategorized at 2:00 pm by bitsypieces

As I mentioned in a previous post, I generally make Hubby his lunch and pack it in a Bento box. Here’s a photo of a recent lunch:

bento1.jpg

Since he works 12-hour shifts, I have to pack him enough for two meals. The top box–a traditional Bento box–contains a heart-shaped ham sandwich (made with leftover ham) and a heart cut-out of cheese. It also has a rice ball that I turned into a face with nori hair, eyes, nose and mouth. Green olives and some heart-shaped chocolates (post Valentine’s Day sale leftovers) complete the box.

The bottom box is less interesting. It, too, contains a ham sandwich with cheese, plus some leftover mac & cheese. You can’t see it in the photo, but I cut out some mini hearts from the leftover cheese slice and added it to the top of the mac & cheese (mostly to minimize waste). This box is just a plain ol’ disposable plastic food storage container that I’ve been using over and over again.

The meal is a little more “beige” than I would like. I usually try to include some type of colorful veggie or fruit. But I also like to use what I have on hand, so this is what Hubby got for lunch.

Leave a Reply

