January 21, 2008

Menu Plan Monday

Posted in Uncategorized at 10:53 pm by bitsypieces

mpm8.jpg

In an effort to save more money–and get organized before Baby arrives–I am participating in something new. Organizing Junkie hosts Menu Plan Monday every week, and I’ve decided to join in.

Personally, I think menu planning is a smart idea. Here’s why:

  • Once a week I can look through my pantry/fridge/freezer and determine which foods need to be eaten before they reach the “too old” stage.
  • By planning my meals, I’ll be less likely to rely on the take-out and restaurant dinners that have become staples in our lives.
  • By forcing myself to cook, I can also force Hubby to eat certain meals. (I’ve tried to explain to my picky-eater husband that he better learn to like veggies before Baby comes, since I plan on serving them regularly.)

So here’s my first Menu Plan Monday post:

Monday (Hubby working, so not home for dinner): Amy’s frozen organic dinner (vegetarian Salisbury steak)

Tuesday: Stir-fry shrimp and veggies served over brown rice

Wednesday: Dining out with friends

Thursday: Stuffed baked potatoes with broccoli and cheese

Friday: Boboli-type homemade pizzas

1 Comment »

  1. Jessica said,

    Welcome to Menu Plan Monday! I just joined it a few weeks ago, but it’s been going fairly well thus far.

    I just spent time reading up on your blog. I’m hooked 🙂


Leave a Reply

