January 17, 2008

Shopping for maternity clothes

Posted in Uncategorized at 7:11 pm by bitsypieces

My mom likes me to look “nice.” And since this upcoming baby shower is mostly for her, I thought I should dress in something better than sweatpants (which have pretty much been my garment of choice lately). Unfortunately, I can’t fit into any of my “nice” clothing anymore.

So I ventured out to buy maternity clothing.

I initially tried used resources, like thrift stores and consignment shops. However, it quickly became apparent that the used maternity clothing market does not have a lot for someone my size.

So next I tried a Motherhood Maternity Outlet. I skipped the regular and “sale” racks, and went straight to the back “clearance” racks. I did find a few pieces, but even on clearance they were more than expected… about $15-$20 per item.

When I got home, I checked eBay. Although I didn’t hit the jackpot–Apparently, even the used maternity market on eBay has few items in my size–I did find one or two pieces for less than $10 each (including shipping). Not a super-duper bargain, but probably as good as can be expected given the small selection. And since I had tried on some items at Motherhood Maternity, I already knew my size.

I am hoping to buy just a few maternity basics–jeans, black pants, khaki pants, 2 shirts–and fill in the rest with Hubby’s shirts and some of my looser-fitting clothes. Since I work in my home, I don’t need to dress for the job. I’d really love to get through this pregnancy with a very small investment in maternity clothes.

2 Comments »

  1. Tiffany said,

    One thing that worked for me early on in my pregnancy was to buy the next size up in clothes, especially the high waisted type shirts. You will go through the sames sizes on your way down to your previous weight after pregnancy so you will be able to use the same clothes twice. I know have jeans and pants ranging in size from 6 to 14. For a nice dress you might try something with an empire waist.

  2. carina said,

    Hi,

    You have a nice blog. A 40-week pregnancy is really just a blip in our whole life time, but the problem with clothing during that time is very painful. Keeping this in mind, two best friends and mother of two children each started http://www.bellybundles.com. We have high quality maternity clothes there and we would like to hear your feedback on our products.

    Thanks,
    Carina – Maternity clothing at bellybundles


Leave a Reply

