January 11, 2008

Thinking Ahead

Posted in Uncategorized at 4:13 pm by bitsypieces

My other obsession–aside from frugality–is my postpartum body. I suspect I am worried about this because I have officially reached my heaviest weight ever. I’ve always been pretty conscious about my figure, so this is all quite new to me.

(At my last doctor’s visit–14 weeks–I’d gained 9 lbs!)

Anyway, I’m already planning which diet/workout plan I’ll be using after the baby arrives. And I’m not crazy enough to think that I’ll be able to jump into it the day we bring the baby home from the hospital. I plan on giving myself about two months before I even think about dropping the weight. Hopefully this will be enough time to adjust to the baby… as well as give my body time to heal.

In case you’re curious, I plan to do the Body for Life program. I’ve used it successfully in the past. It’s simple and flexible, although the workouts are fairly rigorous. Fortunately, Hubby and I have some home gym equipment in our basement, so I won’t have to worry about joining a fitness studio.

Of course, I realize that all this may change. Perhaps, once the baby is born, I won’t care as much about my appearance. Or perhaps the baby will be colicky, and I’ll be too tired to exercise. I’m not going to force anything on myself… but I do enjoy planning my future workouts.

1 Comment »

  1. Leanne said,

    I’m a planner as well and anything that can be planned I enjoy seeing it fall into place! 😉

    I was always told that it takes you 9 months to put the weight on you should give yourself at least 9 months to take it off!? Which when I think about it kinda sucks cause that means that you are probably going to be carrying around extra weight for a year and a half or 18 months before you might return to your former self!? 😮 Seems like a long time to me? But like everyone says ….. well worth it (I suppose) he he


Leave a Reply

