January 10, 2008

A switch in gender roles…

Posted in Uncategorized at 5:55 pm by bitsypieces

In general, it’s Daddies who tend to obsess about money/personal finance when they hear the words, “We’re having a baby.” But for some reason, I’ve been immersing myself in the topic.

I’m less worried about the cost of a crib or the expense of private schools… Instead, I am totally focused on what is commonly known as frugality or simplicity. I want to get rid of all the unnecessary junk in my house, start collecting yogurt cups for craft projects, and clip coupons. I want to buy a deep freeze so I can stock up on supermarket sales, and I’m signing up for every freebie I can find.

It’s not like Hubby and I are totally strapped for cash. Sure… it would be nice to be earning (and saving) more. But in our current situation, we probably won’t go hungry any time soon.

Maybe it’s because I know my income will be slashed (even more!) once the baby arrives since I’ll have less time to work. Or maybe it’s just a strange manifestation of “nesting.”

Since I tend to be a spendthrift, I should probably be happy about this. Now that I feel like pinching pennies until they scream, it will at least be good for our bottom line.

2 Comments »

  1. Tiffany said,

    It sounds like you are already nesting. With this pregnancy I was a BIG nester until about a month ago. I could not settle down until my other daughter had moved out of her crib and into her new room and her old room set back up again for a newborn. I was always cleaning. Lately I have slowed down big time. Maybe when I get my next nesting urge I will know the baby will be here in a very short time.

  2. […] 11, 2008 at 4:13 pm (Uncategorized) My other obsession–aside from frugality–is my postpartum body. I suspect I am worried about this because I have officially reached my […]


Leave a Reply

