December 21, 2007

Caring for baby

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:49 pm by bitsypieces

I’ve never been the type with a maternal instinct. I didn’t babysit when I was a teenager. I never had any young nieces or nephews. I didn’t have a younger sibling. I’ve basically never spent any time around kids. I’ve only held one baby in my life, and that was for about 30 seconds.

I spent years ambivalent about the idea of motherhood. And then once I decided that I did want children, Hubby and I immediately started trying to get pregnant.

I am a little unsure about the whole “caring for baby” aspect of it all. I don’t know how to change a diaper. I don’t know how to hold or feed a baby. And I have no idea what I’m supposed to do when it starts to cry.

Of course, I’ll probably read tons of books on this subject before Baby arrives… so hopefully that will help me be better prepared. But I’m also going to look around for some parenting classes in the local area. (Do you think they’ll pass out dolls to teach us how to diaper?)

1 Comment »

  1. Leanne said,

    I am also the youngest in my family and although I do have a niece and nephew I’m not as close to them as I would like to be. I don’t think any new mom to be really knows what they are in for or how to care for the new arrival, it is something you learn as you go!? I really want to try using cloth diapers but I have absolutely no idea on how to wash them, make sure they don’t leak and make sure they stay in good condition!? I’m hoping people will tell me what to do or not to do (within reason of course). My girlfriend also recommended http://www.gymboreeclasses.com as something to keep your baby amused when it might not be too nice outside. I was looking at their website the other day and noticed that they do offer classes for new parents on how to deal with a crying baby and how to care for you new baby, maybe you have one in your neighborhood? It looked like a pretty neat place you should check out the website?


Leave a Reply

