December 13, 2007

Stressed

Posted in Uncategorized at 3:31 pm by bitsypieces

So yesterday I had my second doctor’s appointment, and I should have been just hitting the 10 week mark (or maybe 9 weeks and 6 days).

Anyhoo… he tried to find the heartbeat with a doppler (he tried for about 3-4 minutes) and didn’t find anything.

I had been so hoping to hear the heartbeat…  and now I am totally stressed and worried that something is wrong!  I am even rethinking my idea of revealing the news to family/friends on Christmas.

I know most everything looks good.  I heard the heartbeat at 6 weeks 4 days, I haven’t had any major cramping or any spotting, and I still have some symptoms (my boobs are still sore).

Hubby thinks we should probably go ahead and tell everyone at Christmas… but now I’m worried…

3 Comments »

  1. Leanne said,

    I would try not to worry about not hearing the heartbeat too much (easier said then done I know) but even my doctor said that at 11 1/2 weeks we may not be able to hear my babies heartbeat! If you are starting to show and haven’t had any spotting I think you would be fine in making your Christmas announcment! Your baby was probably just hiding in the back of your uterus and it was too deep to hear it!? 🙂

  2. katie said,

    as a fellow pregnant woman, but also as a pediatrician, i want you to do your best to not worry about the fetal hearttones not showing up at this last visit….it is totally NORMAL for baby to be hiding at that time bc it is just so small. take a deep breath and wait for the next visit. and if you’re up for it, share the exciting news at christmas! it is certainly cause to celebrate!!!!

  3. bitsypieces said,

    Thanks so much for the reassuring words! I definitely feel better about it… and I do think I will be sharing the news with family on Christmas. Thanks again!


Leave a Reply

