November 30, 2007

Sugar!

Posted in Uncategorized at 6:19 pm by bitsypieces

I’ve never had a sweet tooth.  Instead, I’ve always preferred salty snacks–popcorn, pretzels, corn chips.  But since I’ve been pregnant, I’ve noticed that I’m eating a lot more sugar.

For one thing, I’m sucking on sour hard candies, which are supposed to help with nausea (they do… a bit).  For another, I’m eating soy dream (ice cream) sandwiches every night.  And finally, I’m trying to eat more fruit (like oranges, prunes and apples) for the nutrients and benefits.  I’m also eating more processed foods than usual.

So I’m probably eating 10 times more sugar that normal.  I hate eating all this sugar!   It really makes me feel sluggish, and it’s no wonder I crash when I get tired.

Also, I’m starting to worry about gestational diabetes.

So I’m going to commit–right now!–to less sugar.  Last night at the supermarket I purchased a cereal with low sugar, and today I’m going to try and skip all the extra sugary treats.

Leave a Reply

